• Tofu: Tofu is high in calcium, is mostly composed of complete protein, and is incredibly versatile. This last feature is the most important where the new consumer of tofu is concerned.

  • MilkAlternatives: There are soy milks, rice milks and multi-grain milks with many brand names, flavors and qualities. Many milk alternatives are fortified with calcium and vitamins, and these are preferable for vegans.

  • Meat Alternatives: There are many fake meats, such as veggie hot dogs, veggie pepperoni, veggie burgers, veggie bacon, etc. You get the idea. Some brands contain egg or dairy products, though, so read labels carefully. (We don't generally like to endorse specific brands, but we particularly like Yves company products -- they are tasty and vegan friendly: high in what you want, and lacking what you don't want.)

  • Cheese Alternatives: Unfortunately, there are very few soy or rice cheeses which are suitable for vegans that we know of. Most cheese alternatives contain casein, a milk protein. There are some non-dairy cheese replacements, but you've got to read the labels carefully.

  • Tempeh: Tempeh is made from cultured soybeans and pressed into a cake. It has more texture than tofu, because the beans are not mashed, and it also has more flavor than tofu. It is high in protein and it is an excellent addition to stir-fries, pasta sauces and many other dishes.

  • Nutritional Yeast: Nutritional yeast is available in powder or flakes, and it adds a savory, cheesy taste to foods. It is also rich in protein, amino acids and B vitamins, including vitamin B12. It is, therefore, an excellent food for vegans.

  • Seitan: This meat alternative has a very meat-like texture and is usually sold marinated with strong flavors. It is made from wheat gluten, and it can be quite tasty. It is often expensive, though, so we only have this as an occasional treat.

  • Protein Powders: If you're concerned about protein and you want to be sure that you're getting enough, you could use a soy protein powder supplement, which can be mixed into juice without much fuss. Other grains, such as brown rice, have also been used to create protein powders, but they are less pleasant than the soy supplements and we don't recommend them unless you have a soy allergy.

SoYouWanna know more? Check out our full-length article SYW be a vegan?